Different Perspectives between Big Bang and Viewers of YG’s ‘WIN’

Team A or Team B? Which one will be YG’s next boy group? The show, ‘WIN’, that will provide an answer to this question, has surely given the audience a source of entertainment when it announced the voting result from the viewers. It was indeed different from what the experts, BIGBANG and 2NE1, chose.

The winner of the very first battle on ‘WHO IS NEXT: WIN’, which is YG’s survival program to determine the formation of the first boy group in 7 years since BIGBANG, was in fact, Team A.

The much-anticipated result of the cutthroat battle between Team A (Song Min Ho, Kim Jin Woo, Lee Seung Hoon, Nam Tae Hyun, Kang Seung Yoon), and Team B (B.I., Kim Jin Hwan, Bobby, Song Yoon Hyung, Koo Jun Hoe, Kim Dong Hyuk) was revealed on the official website of ‘WIN’ on Daum portal site.

The majority of judges in the first battle, BIGBANG’s T.O.P., DAESUNG, SEUNGRI and all 2NE1 members voted for Team B. But the viewers saw it differently. 51.37% of the viewers voted for Team A while 48.63% for Team B, which makes it a near neck-and-neck competition.

According to the analysis of the viewers by Nielson Korea, most of the viewers were made up of women in their 20’s, followed by men in their 20’s and women in their 40’s. This shows that Team A benefited from having 2 members who are already well known to the public—Kang Seung Yoon and Lee Seung Hoon

More and more teenagers are utilizing replay services and also starting to participate in the voting, which indicates that many more will be paying a close attention to the second battle.

Interestingly, the best 1 minute, which is a 1-minute span out of the entire show with the highest viewing rate, was Team B’s performance of G-DRAGON’s ‘One of a Kind’, which made the judges explode in applaud and cheering.

The battles are truly fierce, as both teams are remarkably talented and charming. All eyes are on the second battle to see which team the viewers will choose.

‘WIN’ will have 3 battles in total, and the winning team will be determined by the result of viewers’ votes. The lucky team will make a debut under the group name WINNER. Viewers can vote using Daum portal site, Kakao Talk and Kakao Talk’s Fantasy Runner game.

It is also drawing huge attention from abroad and has been airing in 10 different Asian countries from Sept 17, including on STAR TV-related channel V and East Asia’s CJ E&M channel M. Youku, the largest video-sharing website in China streams the show exclusively. Episodes 1, 4 and 5 raked in 1 million viewers each already, proving its extreme popularity.

 From last week, it has been airing in 188 countries through Arirang TV to reach more international fans.

 WIN is aired every Friday from 10p.m. on Mnet and 11:20p.m. on tvN. Korea’s Daum portal site provides replay and behind-the-scenes services while also streaming it live.

Credits: YG-LIFE


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s